Go to content

Main menu:

Jedi Power Battles

Games > PlayStation 1

Star Wars: Episode I:
Jedi Power Battles

Release date:
March 31, 2000

Distributed by:

Third-person Platform

Single Player / Multi Player
(Same screen)

Star Wars Saga Timeline:
32 BBY


You may be thinking that you have already dealt with the Trade Federation in the PlayStation title The Phantom Menace. Perhaps you have, but with Jedi Power Battles, players do not need to worry about solving puzzles but will occasionally have to escort characters. Whereas The Phantom Menace is an adventure game that follows the movie's storyline, Jedi Power Battles sacrifices elements of the movie in order to provide a beat-'em-up action experience.

Players assume the role of one of the five available Jedi: Obi-Wan Kenobi, Qui-Gon Jinn, Mace Windu, Adi Gallia or Plo Koon. Obi-Wan Kenobi is the youngest of the group. He is fast and agile but still has much to learn before becoming a Jedi Knight. Qui-Gon Jinn, known for his excellent lightsaber skills, is a Jedi Master but not a member of the Jedi Council.

Mace Windu is also an expert with a lightsaber but is perhaps best known for his diplomatic skills as a senior member of the Jedi Council. Adi Gallia (the only playable female character) is a Corellian with quick reflexes. Hailing from the planet of Dorin, Plo Koon has incredible strength but is the slowest of the group.

Alone or side-by-side with a friend, players must fight their way through 10 levels. The first level takes place on the Trade Federation Battleship where you must escape with your life. Escape from the battleship and the second level opens in the swamps of Naboo. Level Three takes place in the city of Theed, home to Queen Amidala. In Level Four, players will enter the Theed Palace where they must free the queen who is being held hostage.

Jedi Power Battles' fifth level moves the game off of Naboo and onto the planet of Tatooine. From there the game advances to Coruscant (home of the Galactic Senate) for Level Six. Level Seven takes players back to Naboo for a romp through some ruins. In Level Eight, which takes place on the streets of Theed, your Jedi will have the opportunity to pilot a STAP (Single Trooper Aerial Platform). The palace cliffs are the setting for Level Nine where you will need to rescue six Naboo pilots. Finally, the tenth level takes place in the palace's generator core.

Enemies that will be encountered throughout the game include: Battle Droids, STAPs, Destroyer Droids, Tusken Raiders, Sith Probe Droids, Trade Federation ATTs, Gungan Guards, four types of mercenaries and the Sith Lord, Darth Maul. Players will need to use their lightsabers to slash through the hordes of enemies as well as to deflect incoming laser blasts. Have patience Jedi, use The Force and return peace to the planet of Naboo.

Game Codes & Cheats

Play as Darth Maul:
Successfully complete the game with Qui-Gon Jinn. Then at the character selection screen, highlight Qui-Gon Jinn and press Select. His picture will replace Qui-Gon Jinn. The version of Darth Maul you will play as is the one you fight on level 5, Tatooine.

Play as Queen Amidala:
Successfully complete the game with Obi-Wan Kenobi. Then at the character selection screen, highlight Obi-Wan Kenobi and press Select. Her picture will replace Obi-Wan Kenobi. She fights with her fists and a laser gun.

Play as Captain Panaka:
Successfully complete the game with Plo Koon. Then at the character selection screen, highlight Plo Koon and press Select. His picture will replace Plo Koon. He fights with his fists and a laser gun.

Level 11: Droidekas:
Successfully complete the game with Plo Koon.

Level 12: Kaadu Race:
Successfully complete the game with Adi Gallia.

Level 13: Gungan Round-up:
The Gungan Round-up level is accessed by finding the three Gungan artifacts throughout the game. They are in the following locations:
#1 Naboo Swamp:
Near the end of the second level down in crevice.
#2 Tatooine:
On a medium size plateau up against the screen. Jump forward in a leap of faith. It is inside the hut with the Jawa in front of it.
#3 Gungan Ruins:
Near the end after the covered trap, right next to a tree and a large patch of bushes.

Level 14: Survival Challenge:
Successfully complete the game with Mace Windu.

Ultimate Saber:
In level 14, fight 100 opponents, including all the troop types from the game to unlock the Ultimate Saber. The Ultimate Saber enables one-hit kills on all enemy characters excluding Bosses. You can turn it on or off in menu that appears when the game is paused. Note: You only need to get it once with one of the characters for all characters in that mode (one or two player) to be able to use it.

Backward Compatibility

PlayStation (PS/PS1/Psone) console games can also be played on the PlayStation 2 and PlayStation 3 consoles.



Comment Script
Post this page to: Yahoo! MyWeb Digg reddit Furl Blinklist Spurl
;-) :-) :-D :-( :-o >-( B-) :oops: :-[] :-P
To prevent automated Bots form spamming, please enter the text you see in the image below in the appropriate input box.

This comment form is powered by GentleSource Comment Script. It can be included in PHP or HTML files and allows visitors to leave comments on the website.

STAR WARS is Copyright Lucasfilm Ltd. This website is in no way endorsed or maintained by Lucasfilm. STARWARSMEDIA.COM is Copyright 2008 David Andersen. E-Mail

Back to content | Back to main menu