Go to content

Main menu:

The Phantom Menace

Games > PlayStation 1

Star Wars: Episode I:
The Phantom Menace

Release date:
August 31, 1999

Distributed by:
Big Ape Productions / LucasArts

Third-person Action

Single Player

Star Wars Saga Timeline:
32 BBY


The Phantom Menace puts players directly into the blockbuster movie of the same name. While the basic plot remains the same, much of the story has been slightly altered. It all begins as two Jedi, Qui-Gon Jinn and Obi-Wan Kenobi, attempt to end the Trade Federation's blockade of Naboo. Unknown to the Jedi is that Darth Sidious and his apprentice, Darth Maul, are the true force behind the blockade. Once the Jedi arrive at the Trade Federation Battle Ship, they are marked for death. Their mission of peace quickly becomes one of survival.

Over the course of The Phantom Menace, you'll assume the roles of Qui-Gon Jinn, Obi-Wan Kenobi, Queen Amidala and Captain Panaka. The majority of the action features Obi-Wan, with Qui-Gon also used often. The two remaining characters, however, are only playable for a limited number of levels.

Both Jedi have the same moves, but Qui-Gon is a bit faster with his lightsaber (lightsabers can only be used by the Jedi). They also both have the ability to use the Force by pushing enemies backward and sometimes to the ground to temporarily stun them. Queen Amidala's exclusive weapon is a droid stunner, a close-range weapon capable of disabling droids for a short time. Captain Panaka, meanwhile, uses the Naboo blaster, a gun not differing much from a standard blaster. Other weapons in the game include light repeating blasters, blaster rifles, proton missile launchers, heavy blasters, thermal detonators, Gungan energy balls, flash grenades and heavy repeating cannons.

The action is viewed form a third-person perspective and slightly above the character, with a total of 11 levels spread out over the planets of Naboo, Tatooine and Coruscant. Levels are as follows: Trade Federation Battle Ship, Naboo Swamp, Otoh Gunga, Theed Palace Garden, Theed City, Mos Espa, Mos Espa Arena, Desert Landing on Tatooine, Coruscant, Return to Naboo and The Final Battle. Notable Star Wars characters making appearances include a young Anakin Skywalker, Jabba the Hutt, C-3PO and R2-D2.

Game Codes & Cheats

Debug mode:
At the main menu, highlight "Options", but do not select it. Press:

If you entered the code correctly, you will hear a beep. Now simultaneously press and hold:

If you entered the code correctly, you will access a droid test debug menu with level select, FMV sequence, sound test, and invincibility options. To start on a new selected level, exit the cheat menu and start a new game. The game will begin on the level selected. To watch the FMV sequences or hear the game sounds, highlight the desired clip and press X. Return to the normal menu at any time by pressing and holding:

Backward Compatibility

PlayStation (PS/PS1/Psone) console games can also be played on the PlayStation 2 and PlayStation 3 consoles.



Comment Script
Post this page to: Yahoo! MyWeb Digg reddit Furl Blinklist Spurl
;-) :-) :-D :-( :-o >-( B-) :oops: :-[] :-P
To prevent automated Bots form spamming, please enter the text you see in the image below in the appropriate input box.

This comment form is powered by GentleSource Comment Script. It can be included in PHP or HTML files and allows visitors to leave comments on the website.

STAR WARS is Copyright Lucasfilm Ltd. This website is in no way endorsed or maintained by Lucasfilm. STARWARSMEDIA.COM is Copyright 2008 David Andersen. E-Mail

Back to content | Back to main menu